What is "quality" training? - 1911Forum
1911Forum
Advertise Here
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > >

Notices

Old 02-02-2017, 01:51 PM

What is "quality" training?

Another thread with a video of a rather questionable "instructor" got me thinking...

We often advise others to seek "quality" training from a "qualified" instructor. Those seem to be rather ambiguous terms and concepts. What is "quality" training, what is a "qualified" instructor?

For the sake of discussion, lets focus on pistol use for carry and defensive purposes. What constitutes "quality" training for:

- the complete beginner?
- the novice shooter?
- the intermediate shooter?
- the advanced shooter?

There's also State mandated "training" for CC permit, but thats different discussion... for the purposes of this discussion, exclude such minimum-standard required courses.

What should be taught at each stage, what skills and material should be covered, how should time be divided between classroom and range, what should student-instructor ratios be, how long should POIs be, what kind of round count should be expected, how should student performance be evaluated, should students be dismissed or "fail" the course for violations or not meeting performance mesures....?

For each level or type of training, what experience, background, or 'credentials' should the instructor have?

If you were advising a friend or family member to obtain professional training, what would you suggest they look for in a class and instructor?
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen. ~Samuel Adams~
Old 02-02-2017, 05:43 PM

Specific, Pard ...what kind of "training"?